It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2006, 02:34 PM   #1
(female)

icare2 HB User
New to Depression....taking Effexor ER

Hi everyone. I am new to depression.....well, really just denying it for quite some time. I have been trying to have a baby for the last 2 years, and have been dealing with miscarriages, surgeries, and fertility meds. After many disappointents and failures, my hubby and I are taking a break. I think I have been overwhelmed because of Christmas. I break down at work in tears, can't stop, have mood swings, and no motivation. I do good to get up and go to work in the first place. I finally asked my doc for help. He put me on Effexor XR 37.5 mg. So far it's helping tremendously. I guess I am a little concerned, though, after reading a lot of your posts about the negative effects of it. Does everyone gain weight? I have already gained 10 lbs from the fertility drugs, and really can't stand to gain anymore without becoming overweight. I am also wondering if I even need to go up on the med. Doc said to up it to 75 after a week, but if it's working, I could stay on the lower dose. What do you think? Do you think it will lose effect on the lower dose? I don't plan on taking it long. I am going to try and stop it as soon as I feel ready to try and conceive again. Any input would be appreciated.

Old 12-23-2006, 03:04 PM   #2
Veteran
(male)

Survivor3 HB User
Re: New to Depression....taking Effexor ER

Does your doctor know that you don't want to be on it for long? Not to alarm; but Effexor can be a hard drug to get off.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-23-2006, 05:05 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Dakota_Skye HB User

hello icare,