It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2007, 01:11 PM   #1
(male)

GoGauchos HB User
Somebody help me....anybody....I have too much to lose

Hi everyone,

I am a 22 y/o guy with such a loving family and everything in the world that I need in order to be happy, achieve success, find meaning, find peace....and I'm throwing it all away. Life is so painful, I am scared every day about my future and so many other things.

I started at a great four year University in the fall of 2003. I was a great student in high school and got into a bunch of top-tier schools, and eventually settled on my current school, which is both a solid academic institution as well as a huge party school. I am still enrolled here, it would be my be fourth year now, and almost all my college friends are graduating after this academic term (finals are week after next). I've acquired just under half of all the units I need to graduate (in other words, I've done less than two years work in four years). I am on academic contract at this point, meaning if I don't get a certain GPA this quarter I will be dismissed. I took about 6 months off a year and a half-ago, during which time I was hospitalized for horrible depression. I also went through substance abuse rehab, as I have definitely grossly abused both alcohol and marijuana. I went through the Alcoholics Anonymous experience for some months, but it wasn't ever something I felt I could relate to. In April of 2006, I returned to school - an academic year has come to pass and I am still destroying myself and my life. I'm so sad.....there are tears rolling down my face as I type this. My family loves me so much and wants the best for me, they break their backs to help me be happy and get my life back on track, but I'm so USELESS - I am so self-destructive...