It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2007, 03:09 AM   #1
(male)

SycamoreLeaf HB User
Venlafaxine/Effexor Withdrawal

I am two weeks into the process of coming of effexor completely. My background is that in 2000 I was diagnosed as a severe clinical depressive and was put on a treatment schedule. This started with a 12 month course of CBT. After about 6 months I was prescribed fluoxetine which I was on (with varying dosages) for three years.

During a period when I was considered to be better, my doc was trying to help do without the meds and reducing things, my wife (now my ex) decided to request a divorce as she didn't understand me any more etc etc (after some 14 years of marriage and 3 kids).

This brought on the onset of another depressive episode and my psychiatrist proscribed Venlafaxine as fluoxetine seemed not to work. I have been on 150mg pd since 2004 and after another session of CBT, a divorce, my company going bankrupt, moving towns, finding a wonderful woman who loves me as I am and starting a whole new life I am coming off the tablets.

The regime has been 75mg twice a day for 1 week then 75mg am and 37.5mg pm and I am about to start on 37.5mg twice a day for 2 weeks then 37.5MG pd and then back to the doc hoefully for the all clear and no more tablets.

Withdrawal symptoms so far:- Dizziness - I fainted for the first time in my life (I am 46), flu like symptoms, my knees ache and occaisionally I get a "woolly" feeling in my head.

I would be most grateful for any comments, suggestions and help from other members as I am very keen to enjoy my new life as a normal person (allthough some of friends would say fairly rude things at this point - but only in jest).

Last edited by SycamoreLeaf; 09-08-2007 at 04:31 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-07-2007, 01:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)