It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2008, 08:34 PM   #1
(male)

clara280 HB User
I need confirmation.

Hi there,

I'm a 20 year old student who, in the past couple of weeks, have experienced things that I haven't before experienced.

I'm trying to gather as much information online so I can some idea what's going on with me -- and It's hard to explain what I'm feeling so please bare with me.

Starting a couple of weeks ago, I havn't been able to enjoy myself doing any of the things I have enjoyed before. I don't appreciate music like I once did, I don't enjoy food, I don't laugh the same way at my favorite T.V shows, etc. I am constantly in my head, every second of my waking life. Everytime I do anything, be it laugh or eat, my mind will constantly tell me that "I'm not laughing like I once did" or "you are not enjoying this food like you once have". I went to a concert last night which normally I would of loved, but the entire time my mind was telling me that "you are not hearing the music like you once did" and I can't enjoy myself -- I keep thinking that I've changed for the worse.
I'm a music student who has received a scholorship to a private institution in N.Y.C which I should be thrilled about, but I'm not. I don't really feel anything. When I'm playing the instrument my mind is constantly telling me that "you aren't playing it the same way, you've lost your natural ability", and it scares me. Everything I do, all throughout the day my mind is constantly telling me these things.

Emotionless and numb are words that commonly correlate with depression, but I need to know if anyone has experienced this constant battle with ones mind.