It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2008, 11:59 PM   #1
(female)

momtobaby1 HB User
just need some input

I am 24 years old and have two kids ages 3 and nearly 2. I am also a full-time student and work between 15-25 hours/week. I have a full load really. I've dealt with depression since I was 13 and have been on incredible amounts of medications of all sorts. In the last 4 years though I've been off medication and had felt like my life was better. Growing up my situation was bad enough I wasn't able to live at home, I grew up in hospitals, group homes and institutions. For me being able to be independent and feeling good and stable without medication was a huge step for me. I felt like I was finally in control. Imagine my surprise then when after the birth of my youngest child I developed postpartum depression. This was nearly 2 years ago. Since then it's been a constant swing of emotions and levels of functioning. I'm not able to properly take care of myself and I know it. I put my kids first and myself last because I have to. I'm not and have not been severely depressed. It's more like a mild to moderate persistent never ending low mood. I go through periods of time that last 2 weeks or so that are worse and then it levels back out. I'm underweight and cannot control this. I have tried but my appetite disappeared about 18 months ago. I've fought this but can't help it. My relationship with my husband has deteriorated because my sex drive is basically dead and has been for a long time.