It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2008, 04:57 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(male)

Mr.G HB User
Quarter life Crises--Cant figure out what job to do, 26 yrs old living with parents!

Hello I am a 26 yr old male. I have been unfortunate in the career department in life. I got a degree from college in Criminal Justice. My GPA was a 2.8. Which is my fault. However the degree I went for was not something I really wanted to do. I went into college blind and only took the advice to do the degree because my dad was a cop and he wanted my to follow in his footsteps. I receantly did an interview for a parole officer position which starts at 39,000 a yr. Not bad money, but not so great either considering my age and how much invested in college. There is openins for the police department in the city I went to college to that start at 74,000 a yr. It is in jan however and I am not sure if I would make the cut. I lost a job this last spring because a weapon came up missing in a shiptment(moving company). I wrote down the serial number on the weapon wrong so I got fired from my position. Although I was not enjoying the job, I did not want it to go down that way. It is not good for getting other jobs. So now I am living at home because I could not afford rent anymore. I am working for my dad a little for having them feed me and such. But I can not stand the town I am in. It is a highschool town and retirement place and really nothing in between. I have no friends here, no prospects for any kind of relationship(girlfriend) and I am going crazy not having a job and living with parents. I have thought about joining the military. I really want to get out of this place. The only problem is that the military does not pay so well and it takes a long time to get promotions..like 2 yrs after the intial ranks. I would starto ut makeing maybe 3