It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2009, 05:54 PM   #1
(female)

jnn HB User
Unhappy Feel like I don't trust my counselor any more.

Hi,

Ok, this might just be me being paranoid. But I do need your help...

Here's a little background info of me. I am a grad student in my 20s. I have been suffering from anxiety and depression symptoms. I have been seeing the school counselor and it has been going pretty well. I have never taken meds because I prefer not to.
My symptoms do go back and forth. And recently, the school counselor asked me if I had suicidal thoughts and I said I did probably several weeks ago. I can't rememer how we got into that, but I did tell her.

So anyway. Today, I learned in class that psychologists/counselors have to report to the police (or maybe some other facility) if their clients have suicidal thoughts (I am in the US). I started to feel REALLY anxiety and paranoid. I feel like the school police are watching me. Even now I am typing this post, I am actually thinking that someone is spying on my through the internet.

So I feel like I can't tell my counselor the truth any more, and I don't trust her any more. I am afraid that I will be thinking about her "turning me in" while I am talking to her in my next appointment. I don't want to talk to her any more.

Thank you for your patience to read this post. If you have any suggestion, please feel free to tell me. This is really bothering me!

Thanks again!

Old 05-22-2009, 06:10 PM   #2
Veteran
(male)

fossilapostle HB User
Re: Feel like I don't trust my counselor any more.

Don't worry, we're not watching you. I mean they, not us. That's a typo.

Seriously though, it was like pulling teeth to get a cop to come out to my house when it got broken into one time. I doubt they've got the anti-suicide squad tracking your every movement.