It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2009, 05:36 PM   #1
(male)

bobs11 HB User
Depression & Anxiety (I hate my job?)

Hi All,
I have been fighting anxiety & panic attacks for more than ten years but never really had any issues getting up and going to work until last year.
B/ween 1997-2002 i worked for a company that i really enjoyed working for,
however due to recession they downsized and i was abruptly sacked.
I remember feeling shattered and vowed i would never step foot back their again. I found another job a month or so later in the same industry and felt relieved, although it took me awhile to get back into the swing of things.
Eventually i started to enjoy my new role and things started to look up.
Then in May of '06 i received a call from my previous employer ,which floored me, and met with them.
They made an offer to good to refuse so hesitantly i accepted. I recall having mixed feelings about going back as i really enjoyed my role but family comes first(married with 2 kids).
That's when things started to go downhill, from the moment i stepped foot back their i started to feel anxious and depressed. Unfortunately i had a breakdown in feb. last year and was diagnosed with depression. The last year or so has been very difficult, i don't want to go to work anymore. My wife is trying hard but her resolve is really being tested.
I have lost interest with everything i used to love and feel that my thoughts are all about not wanting to go to work.
I'm still working for this company and am on medication but i don't know whether it's the depression /anxiety that makes me not want to go to work or
whether i genuinely hate my job?