It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2009, 02:27 PM   #1
(male)

notlazy HB User
Just when apathy becomes depression? (long post)

Hi everyone, I'm new here. I'm pretty new to psychology and psychiatry in general (I've mostly read Wackypedia entries until now).
So I find still hard to differentiate between personality or mood disorders and between psychological complexes/"bad habits" or clearly defined mental illnesses. Especially in my case.
The fact that a lot of similar symptoms apply to very different disorders or illnesses is of little help.

Not that I'm trying a self-diagnosis, it's just that I find very hard to describe how I feel to my psychologist, and I realized how some kind of self-analysis "homework" really helps in the process.

I'm not joking when I say it took months to reach the level of understanding I've got now about my issues, and I'm still far from getting a coherent picture.
My best guess is Clinical Depression at the moment, that's why I'm posting here.

Anhedonia: I rarely experience pleasure in what I do. So when I do something, it's because I think I need to do that, or because I'm forced to. The main drive behind me doing things, even if I don't particularly like them, seems to be a need to compensate for feelings of inferiority and guilt (can't feel them very much though, I only can act in response to them or to prevent them).
What I find unclear is if those feelings are a symptom of depression, or if my low mood is only a consequence of being "not free" as I'm forced to act moved by those feelings. Simple example: I'd like to spend most of my time playing videogames, but I won't because it'll make me feel guilty toward my parents who expect me to graduate soon and then get a job.