It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2001, 09:51 PM   #1

CBOY HB User
Hope! I Hope.

Hello to all, This is my first time posting on the newwwwww board. I have been a reader of the old board for the last year or so. It s been over a year now since I was overcome by my attack with depression and anxiety. Yes attack. It came over me like a storm does on a clear sunny day. The only problem was it never got sunny again. At least not for some time. I was inspired by the hopeful post from our friend. Now that I am doing better I have forgotten how bad I really hurt. I used to search the board or boards to no end, till I found a message of hope. Sometimes I would hang on the message for days until I found another or until I found something to help give me hope. Well its my turn to help you guys who helped me. The word depression doesn't really fit how one feels while going through this. For most of you, you know what I mean. For those of you who need something to hang onto, I hope this story helps. This is the second time that I have gone through a bout of depression mixed with anxiety. The first time was over twelve years ago. It was so scary. I didn't know what was happening to me. I ran from doctor to doctor hoping that one of them would have the answer or a magic pill to make the crazy feelings go away. I think that I would have even accepted cancer as an answer. At least I would know what was wrong with me. To be told "its all in your head" is really hard to accept. After trying a number of different meds, which made me feel like I was back in the 70s, I was finally fortunate to find a doctor who somewhat really cared and prescribed something that helped. In time I got better. I learned a lot about myself as well as how I viewed the world around me. I stayed on meds (Imipramine) for over two years. I never wanted to