It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2011, 10:27 AM   #1
(male)

Jagraal HB UserJagraal HB UserJagraal HB UserJagraal HB UserJagraal HB UserJagraal HB User
Isolation

So, i'm 41, divorced for several years and i have a pretty debilitating panic disorder and depression. i live alone. My mom died last year and i have no family around the area i live in. i'm a musician and teach from home, and unfortunately the way he economy is going, students have dropped like flies. So, i have very little income now.

My anxiety makes it difficult if not impossible for me to just go out and pound the pavement for work. As it does for finding a girl. i'm in therapy, but i think its only mildly helpful. i wont do meds, other than xanax as needed, as i have a blood/needles/med phobia as well.

i feel so alone. i have a few friends that i make an attempt to see, but they have wives and families so visits are always at their houses and despite at least getting out of my house, it still reminds me of the things i dont have.

As i said, its difficult for me to go out. Its even more difficult for me to approach strangers and say hi and start up a conversation.

i guess my question is... does anyone feel this way? This total feeling outside of the rest of the world. And what are some concrete things you have done that start to alleviate he pain and perhaps create some sort of schedule of manageable things to help recover?

Thanks for any ideas. i appreciate it greatly.

The following user gives a hug of support to Jagraal:
Ayria (11-01-2011)
Old 11-01-2011, 12:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

flamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB Userflamesabers HB User
Re: Isolation