It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Depression Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2012, 11:05 PM   #1
(female)

Ressamm20 HB User
Unhappy In need of support

Hello all,
I am so glad to have found this site for a chance to vent and find some much needed support.
I am a 30 year old single mother of two boys (my older son will be 10 on the 12th of March and my younger son will be 5 in December). My problems with depression started when I was a teenager after I was raped by my stepdad at the age of 12 and suffered ongoing sexual abuse until I was 17. He also was mentally abusive from the age of 7 and physically abusive from the age of 9. My mother was also mentally abusive in many ways although she does not see it that way (of course).
My adult years have also been full my many struggles. I joined the Navy when I was 18, right after I graduated from high school, as a way to get away from my mother and stepfather but was medically discharged two weeks from graduation from basic training for the depression, tendonitis and cancer. I was lucky in that I did not have to move back in with my mother and stepfather since I had found my birthfather and his family when I turned 18 just prior to my high school graduation and they invited me to live with them (one of the greatest choices I could have made for myself). Everything went really well for about a year and a half to a point I had no bouts of depression and life was great.