It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2004, 02:22 PM   #1

mamak HB User
Diabetes and Low Carb Diet/ Atkins

At one time I did the Atkins diet and did lose weight and my blood sugars went down. But since having the bypass, I'm not sure if its a good diet for the heart or not. I've wondered if the high protein may have played a roll in the 3 clogged arteries. Are there any diabetics that do the low carb, meat, cheese and eggs with heart conditions? Mama Kay

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2004, 12:49 PM   #2

Kiowas72 HB User
Re: Diabetes and Low Carb Diet/ Atkins

just a little tid bit , weather you are going low carb or not. Buffolo meat is WAY lower in fat then beef. A lot of stores at least carry ground Buffolo so you can use a little of it. so that would reduce your fat intake. though i'm not a nutritionist Protien isn't gonna clog your arteries.

i actually just read in a book that most of the fat that clogs artiries is Polyunsaturated fat. even though that's what is "recomended" Grr wish i had that book with me to post the numbers and the study that produced them... i'll maybe grab it during lunch

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2004, 01:57 PM   #3

mamak HB User

Thanks Ki, I did the low carb diet once and did really well with it and the blood sugars did go down but you hear some much about eating all the meat and high cholestrol (sp) foods, then it makes one wonder if conquering one problem isn't creating another. Thanks for your reply, Mama Kay

Old 10-22-2004, 09:03 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)

arkie6 HB User

I would recommend that you go over to the High Cholesterol forum here and read some of the recent topics there. Many of them discuss the benefits of a low carbohydrate diet with regards to cardivascular health.