It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2006, 09:54 AM   #1
(female)

harleybird HB User
Difference between Fasting Glucose & Fasting Insulin Levels

I am new to this and I am wondering if anyone can tell me the differences between the fasting Glucose Level and the fasting Insulin Level.

My Fasting Glucose was 94 and my fasting Insulin was 48.

I have been diagnosed with Metobolic Syndrome & Insulin Resistence and just started metformin XR 1 x a day.

I hope to lose some of this fat around the middle. Does weight loss get easier when taking metformin for these levels of glucose and insulin?

Thanks!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-07-2006, 01:28 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Mark1e HB User
Re: Difference between Fasting Glucose & Fasting Insulin Levels

Quote:
Originally Posted by harleybird
I am new to this and I am wondering if anyone can tell me the differences between the fasting Glucose Level and the fasting Insulin Level.

My Fasting Glucose was 94 and my fasting Insulin was 48 .....
As the names imply, the glucose test measures how much glucose, which is a source of energy, is in your blood. And the insulin test measures how much insulin, the hormone that enables glucose to enter cells and be turned into energy, is in your blood.

At 94 your fasting glucose is somewhat higher than normal (about 85mg/dl) but not high enough for a diabetes diagnosis. But your insulin level of 48mg/dl is way higher than it should be. A healthy young non-insulin resistant adult would have an insulin level of about 10. So your pancreas is pumping out 5 times as much insulin as it should have to, in order to keep your blood glucose in the normal range. Which means that you are insulin resistant.