It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2007, 04:14 PM   #1
(male)

greamer HB User
Insulin Resistance

Is insulin resistance reversible through diet and exercise; can I get it back to normal? How long does it take? How does one know if their too high fasting blood sugar is due to insulin resistance or to something else.

George

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-02-2007, 08:45 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

blondy2061h HB User
Re: Insulin Resistance

Quote:
Originally Posted by greamer
Is insulin resistance reversible through diet and exercise
From what I have heard, yes. Diet and exercise is the best way to reduce IR.

Quote:
can I get it back to normal?
Hopefully, but it varies person to person.

Quote:
How long does it take?
I have no idea. I have no personal experience with IR. But I am sure this varies person to person too.

Quote:
How does one know if their too high fasting blood sugar is due to insulin resistance or to something else.
If you have a high fasting bs and a high fasting c-peptide, it's from insulin resistance.

Last edited by blondy2061h; 01-02-2007 at 08:48 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-02-2007, 11:24 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Mark1e HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by greamer
Is insulin resistance reversible through diet and exercise; can I get it back to normal? How long does it take? How does one know if their too high fasting blood sugar is due to insulin resistance or to something else.

George
George,

I believe it is possible, but only if you drastically cut back on carbohydrate. Simply containing blood sugar levels by avoiding high GI carbs is not good enough. You actually need to reduce insulin levels to normal levels. And you can only do this by avoiding all insulinotropic foods and getting a lot of exercise at the same time.