It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2007, 07:11 PM   #1
(female)

Heylucy HB User
Diabetes Type 2

Hello to everyone, I'm new at this. My first post to this site. I'm looking for help.

I suspect my husband is heading toward diabetes II. He is about 350 pounds, age 40, heavy around the middle, seditary lifestyle. He basically sits at a computer all day long and is a carb junkie. He loves food, snacks, drinks. He has a history of heart problems in his family, his grandfather on his mother's side, died of a heart attack at age 46.

Recently he has not been feeling well. About a year ago, he had a slip and fall and received a concusion. Then about the same time, he got pneumonia. I have read that a viral infection (like pneumonia) can trigger diabetes. Since the pneumonia, he has not been the same since. He has ongoing headaches (migraines) now for the last year. He thinks its from the fall, but I'm starting to think it is from highs and lows on blood sugar. I've been trying to keep a diary and I have noticed that when he eats alot of carbs, about 2-3 hours later he is popping pain pills for a migraine. He has frothy urine (maybe due to the drugs pain pills), his hair is thinning, his complexion is pale (under the suntan) something only a wife would notice, he's irritable all the time (at the least little thing), his eyes seem like they are bulging, his ankles are swollen (I think from kidney problems), even his legs look swollen to me. For those of you into iridology, he has (light brown) spots in the kidney and pancreas areas. (I'm not an iridology expert, just looking for signs of trouble).