It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2008, 10:03 PM   #1
(female)

celeste77 HB User
!!Please Help!!! I need some answers on something!!

Hi and thanks for taking a look at my post. Recently I put up a post because i'm new to the injection "Symlin". First off all, I was on oral meds for a long time, close to 10 years. Now i'm on Novalog 20 units before meals, Lantus 30 units in the night, and now Symlin 15mcg before meals. My blood sugars are so high and out of wack. If I watch what I eat i'm in the low 200's, my fasting's are still over 250. Here is what I don't understand now, the endo told me that it would take time for my body to adjust, that the meds where no longer helping me, that's why he was taking me off. Okay, but from what I was told by my other endo, I have type 2 diabetes and that I am "insulin resistant" therefore my pancreas still produces insulin, my blood cells however do not know how to use it. So, if this is the case, wouldn't it make sense to put me on pills that would make my blood cells open and take in the insulin, versus putting me on insulin? I just don't understand, and i'm new to this endo and he is nice, but i'm not sure at the moment. I hope that this makes sense to someone out there!!!. I guesse I just don't see how the insulin can help me if making insulin isn't the problem? I don't know!

Old 06-04-2008, 09:35 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

SamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB UserSamQKitty HB User
Re: !!Please Help!!! I need some answers on something!!

Celeste,