It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2008, 10:18 PM   #1
(female)

Rachel0320 HB User
Question So Very Confused

First off - Hello, my name is Rachel, I am new to this and have lots of questions.

I just learned of my high blood sugar on Monday. I stopped at my mom's house after work and had her check it. She has Type 2 and has the monitor to do it with. Anyway, it read 239! Ahhh! Just to go back a bit...... I developed a yeast infection with this month's and last month's "time of month". That is what prompted all this. My OBGYN suggested I get my sugar checked. So, I made an appointment with my Dr. for Tuesday afternoon. She set me up to have bloodwork Thursday morning for the A1c. I am trying to have a glimmer of hope that it will come back pre-diabates, but don't think so with my numbers. My mother also had a few monitors and gave me one to check for a few days. Two days in a row my morning sugars were 195.

Ok, here's my BIG question.......... How the heck are you suppose to eat??????? I mean I get the whole stay away from sugar and "white" stuff and eat low carb and all that, but at the same time, I'm confused. I have eaten very good for like 2 days, but tonight had a breakdown and had 6 oreos, 5 pizza bites, 1/2 french bread pizza, cup of chocolate milk, 5 crackers with cheese and a cup of regular milk. I wasn't going to check my sugar as I was scared because of all I had eaten, but then decided I need to face the music. So, I checked it and it was 201. Now, I know that's high, but this afternoon after a cup of berries it was 288!!!!!!! I can't imagine how fresh fruit can make it go higher that all the junk I ate tonight! My mother said because there was fat with it to slow the digestion, the berries are like straight sugar?!