It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2008, 10:41 AM   #1
(female)

donna70 HB Userdonna70 HB User
How many carbs a day???

Hi,
I am new to this diabetic stuff. I just got told last Thursday I have diabetes, no prediabetes or anything, just put on 500 mg of Metformin XR. What I can't seem to find is what would be a good level of carbs for me, if I plan to eat maybe 1200-1400 calories a day. My dr told me to lose 22 lbs and maybe I can get off the meds. I am 153 lbs now, 5 ft, 5 inches. So would someone know what amount of grams of carbs I can have in a day? I am hoping with my walking and cutting back I will be off of the metformin maybe by Christmas. I got some books and am looking stuff up but I can't understand exchanges etc and since the dr doesn't have me testing my blood I can't tell if I am doing alright. My GTT was 226 after 2 hrs and have 3 relatives with diabetes 2. thanks for any input!!
Donna70

Old 09-09-2008, 11:22 AM   #2
(female)

Laura789 HB UserLaura789 HB User
Re: How many carbs a day???