It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2008, 05:38 AM   #1
(female)

donna70 HB Userdonna70 HB User
best test for bs, fasting or 2 hr post meal?

Hi,
I am new to diabetes and trying to conserve my testing strips? For the experts, which is the best test the morning fasting one or the one 2 hrs after meals? which would be the most accurate picture of what is going on with your sugar? the strips are so expensive, I don't want to waste them. thanks in advance for any input!!
Donna70

Old 10-10-2008, 08:55 AM   #2
Veteran
(male)

itotito HB User
Re: best test for bs, fasting or 2 hr post meal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by donna70 View Post
Hi,
I am new to diabetes and trying to conserve my testing strips? For the experts, which is the best test the morning fasting one or the one 2 hrs after meals? which would be the most accurate picture of what is going on with your sugar? the strips are so expensive, I don't want to waste them. thanks in advance for any input!!
Donna70
I won't speak for T1, because I believe they judge how much insulin to inject based on their reading

But if you are T2 and know your body well, and know how it reacts to certain foods, and are relatively consistent, you can test less often.

If you are T2 and don't know your body well, at first you should test often to learn how your body reacts. When you know, you can slow down.

I think the most important thing is to test before and after meals to understand what food does what, and depending on the time of day. Once you see a pattern, you can probably test less. This will allow you to adjust your diet.