It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2008, 11:54 AM   #1
(female)

ScarletS HB User
Unhappy New and struggling with it all

Hi
I have recently started injecting with insulin and I am really struggling with all of it at the moment. I am finding it very overwhelming to say the least.
I am overweight but I honestly do not eat like a pig, I actually struggle to eat all the food the dietitian wants me to eat it is just to much! A local health magazine had an article about diabetes where a doctor said that type 2 diabetes is caused by over eating and being lazy this made me cry. I will be the first to admit that I am not doing enough exercise I am a computer programmer and the nature of my work is to sit all day but I am making an effort to do 30min exercise a day.
The big thing that is getting to me at the moment is that since I started with insulin I have GAINED weight. I am currently taking 850mg Glucophage (Metformin) and I am injecting 36units of insulin twice a day. My sugar levels have gone from being between 17-20 fasting to being between 8-10 in the last month. Why am I gaining weight? This is so upsetting and my legs keep swelling as well , it is not just since I started with the medication but it is getting worse though.
Am I the only person that is struggling like this? I also do not understand what exactly all the medicine is suppose to be doing I know that it is to control my sugar but is the medication making me gain weight? And I am super emotional as well suddenly like I said at the start of this very long post I just find it all so very overwhelming!
Thanks for reading

Last edited by ScarletS; 11-15-2008 at 12:51 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-15-2008, 02:19 PM   #2
Veteran
(male)

tfkeel HB User
Re: New and struggling with it all