It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diabetes Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2012, 08:29 AM   #1
(female)

vinsquet HB User
Metformin

New to this forum in Diabetes, here is a little history. I have been battling hypothyroidism for the last 2 years since I stopped smoking back 2009, but have been hypo for 12 years. Needless to say since I quit smoking I have gained weight and am 56 years old. About a year ago, my fasting Glucose has been ranging randomly 100, 86, 95, 89, 103, 106 100, 102. In March I asked for A more detailed test A1C Hemoglobin test which ranged from 6.2, 6, 6.3 6.3 and 6 respectively over a period from March thru Dec 2011. My doctor sayís Iím prediabetic and to start watching my carbs and to start exercising. I showed him my exercise log and he saw no problem there.

I have completely changed my diet to low carb (hardly go over 50-70 total Carb daily not net carb) since July, 2011. Actually, I really enjoy eating this way. I was never a sweet tooth person, but would sometimes go on a binge, but I did love Coke. Since being on the low carb, I donít crave Coke anymore and just have lots of water. Do at least 2.5 hours or more of exercise per week most of the time (includes advance step aerobics, walk/jog, and strength training during those times. Before starting the low carbing, I weighed 176 LB and am now at 162 LBs (itís been very slow, could be due to be hypo thyroid too).

I bought a glucose meter and have been testing during the day. My fasting BG is between 100-115 and my post meal reading is between 87 Ė 129. My problem is always the fasting reading and have been reading up on the Dawn Phenomenon.

I seemed to be doing all the right things, low carbing and exercise and cannot get the fasting reading down.