Originally Posted by Asenath
I have been a vegitarian for about 10 years, although I eat fish and drink milk. Here is my question...
Animal products are found in countless items. Drug capsules, for instance, are made from gelatin. Condroitin is made from steer cartiledge.
How does a vegitarian/vegan deal with this? I don't want to take drugs that are a mad-cow risk.
Animal products are all over the place, but there are alternatives, too, and they are becoming more widely available with time. for example, there are gel caps made from cellulose (plant origin) instead of gelatin, and in lieu of chondroitin i take MSM and there is also vegan glucosamine on the market now...neither would be too hard to track down on the internet if you couldn't find them in stores near you.
I don't find it hard to avoid animal products and biproducts at all-- just takes a little getting used to and then it's a piece of cake.