It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2004, 11:05 PM   #1

suzi47cmt HB User
Unhappy nutritional help for cystitis, interstitial

Here I am again.
I am looking for help mainly for my niece, who is only five years old. I have interstitial cystitis, but so does my little niece. I have learned to live with it and take medications, and have to keep changing my diet. I am still learning however, AND it is still painful and discouraging.

ANYHOO...I am mainly here for her. You see, most of the medications for adults just are NOT appropriate or suitable for children. Also, NEITHER are the diet restrictions. I am DESPERATELY trying to find some natural or dietary ways to help her out. She is ALSO diabetic. We are going to be seeing a dietician soon, but not for another six weeks, and so far this poor child is suffering. It is just SO frustrating!!

ANY help anyone can offer us would be MUCH appreciated.

God bless and THANK YOU!!!

Suzi

The following user gives a hug of support to suzi47cmt:
AnnieMaine (09-01-2011)
Old 05-19-2004, 06:43 AM   #2
Inactive

csoar2004 HB User
Re: nutritional help for cystitis, interstitial

Suzi-
Did a search and found the following dietary recommendations at a interstitial cystitis site:
Quote:
The idea behind managing your diet is to avoid foods and beverages that may irritate your bladder and result in a flare up of interstitial cystitis. Here is a list of some of the suggested items to restrict, followed by foods and beverages that a number of IC patients have noted do not cause them problems.
Milk/Dairy Products

AVOID: aged cheeses, sour cream, yogurt and chocolate

OK TO TRY: white chocolate, non-aged cheeses such as cottage or American, frozen yogurt and milk

Vegetables

AVOID: fava beans, lima beans, onions, tofu, soy beans and tomatoes