It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2004, 07:35 AM   #1
(female)

twins2sets HB User
Diet Coke addiction....sounds silly, but it's uncontrollable!!!!!

I have been drinking Diet Coke nonstop for about 18 years. And when I say nonstop, I mean it. I pretty much drink only that, with water occasionally, and iced tea sometimes if I'm out at a restaurant. It's almost to the point of being embarrassing. I have to have it in the morning. I don't drink coffee. If we go to a party I bring it with me in case they don't have it. I drink about a 2 liter bottle a day. I spend at least $10 a week just on soda.

I must admit, it's my only vice. I thought that was pretty good...I don't drink hardly ever, don't smoke, no drugs, nothing. I guess it's better than those...but I have read about the dangers of aspartame. I have had so many minor health problems over the years, and I wonder if it could be related. Seems I always have stomach issues, get colds a lot, have back pain, irritable, depressed, nausea, etc. Now of course it could just be from getting older, but....

I have tried to stop a couple of times and once I even made it a whole day but I was SO cranky. When I was pregnant I had no trouble stopping both times, for the health of the babies. So why did I pick it back up again? I don't think it's necessarily the caffeine. I've tried cutting it out before for a couple of weeks, just drinking caffeine free. It was the same. I still wanted it. I'm now drinking caffeine free about half the time.

Not only that but it has to be a certain temperature, with lots of ice, but not too melted or I feel sick, and if it's even the slightest bit flat I toss it. The 2 liter bottles seem to get flat when they are near the bottom so I always pour it out and start a new one.