It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2004, 12:19 PM   #1
(male)

sam061 HB User
Soy Milk, and Soy Flour

Does anyone know the Vit. K content of Soy Milk and Soy Flour? I am on a blood thinner and want to use these two products.

Also, when it comes to lean meat the butcher told me Filet mignon (sp) is the leanest cut of beef. I always thought round and sirlion steak was. I don't eat red meat very often, but if the filet is leaner I might have it a couple of times a month.

One other comment. I substitue ground venison and ostrich for beef. I really enjoy it. We have a store that carries it, but it also can be ordered off the internet. - sam

Old 10-10-2004, 08:08 PM   #2

Exile HB User
Re: Soy Milk, and Soy Flour

about the filet comment... im no meat expert, but i was under the impression that the reason that filet mignon was so good wasnt because it was low in fat, but because the fat is marbled thorough out the meat the best, keeping it tender and juicy. in other words, there are not chunks of fat, but rather fat all through out.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-10-2004, 09:40 PM   #3
(male)

sam061 HB User

It wasn't explained to me as such by two different butchers, but I think you are correct. Something has to make it tender and the only thing to do that is fat. And to think I ate one last night. Good, but not good for me. Thanks for a logical response. -sam

Last edited by sam061; 10-10-2004 at 09:42 PM.

Old 10-11-2004, 04:15 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(male)

arkie6 HB User