It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2010, 08:41 AM   #1
(female)

FLsWomen HB User
non-intentional weight loss- help!

I have been having some health problems for a while now. I have a prolcatin imbalance caused by the pituitary gland which gives me many unpleasant symtoms and causes me to be infertile and lose my period. I have been taking a medicine called Parlodel is help the imbalance but it isnt working and I have been losing a lot of weight. I was 140lbs 3 months ago, I got weighed at the doctors (and I doubled checked on my scale at home) last week and I am now 114lbs. 26lbs in 3 months without trying.

This is the problem. I have completely lost my appitate. I have no idea why. Food I loved, I have no interest in. When I think I'm hungry, I will make food, eat one bite, then have no interest and throw it out. I try so hard to FORCE myself to eat but then I feel sick. When I do eat, I can only eat a very small amount before I feel very full.

I am going to start writing down everything I eat. I know that I cannot get all my needed calories thorugh food because I simply cannot eat enough. Is there any other way, besides those gross ensure drinks, that I can get calories? I am not paniced right now because my weight isnt dangerous. I'm
5'5 and very small structered. I was actually overweight when I started losing weight, my ideal is around 120, I feel healthy and look good/healthy at this weight.

Although my current weight (114) is not dangerous, the rapid weight loss IS scaring me because I cannot lose another 26lbs in 3 months, THEN i would be in danger. Any advice? And can anyone tell me why I might have completely lost the desire to eat?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-02-2010, 01:48 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)