It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Diet & Nutrition Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2012, 04:41 PM   #1
(female)

Mandaloo HB User
Juicing while pregnant

Hello, everyone : ). I am new to the juicing world, and I'm also 9 weeks pregnant. When I got the juicer last month, I looked up what herbs, veggies, and fruits were off limits during pregnancy... only some herbs were mentioned. I read that kale and carrots were very important during pregnancy, so I have been incorporating those into most of my recipes, along with spinach, apples, celery, sweet potatoes, broccoli, many fruits... just about everything possible. I try to drink one fruit juice a day, and one vegetable juice, so I'm not trying to cleanse or fast. Anyway, I recently read that pregnant women need to be careful not to OD on vitamin A, so I was trying to look up the nutritional value of carrots, kale, spinach, sweet potatoes, anything known for vitamin A. The results I got were confusing and inconsistent. It looked like one serving of each of those was well over the allowable intake limit of daily vitamin A? That seems odd to me because then wouldn't it not be healthy for anyone to juice or eat these vegetables? I asked my OB, he's not very into nutrition and said he can't advise me on what he doesn't know, so maybe I should just not juice. I would much rather juice if I can, I am a high risk pregnancy (not due to pre-existing health conditions) and I want to be as healthy as can be. I have also read online that pregnant women should definitely incorporate kale and other greens in their diet. Can anyone help me with some nutritional information on juicing while pregnant and/or about vitamin A? I would GREATLY appreciate it, thank you in advance!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-29-2012, 07:23 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)