It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2005, 08:13 PM   #1
(male)

shokatsu HB User
Question Newbie - Getting an Upper Gi w/KUB (Air Contrast)

Hi - I am new to this particular board. I am sceduled to get the UPPER GI done in 2 days and wanted to know more about it. Reason I was told to get it is I had Back surgery 4 weeks ago and was on 800 MG of Motrin for a long time and suddenly out of no where i got horrible stomache cramps. Like flu, but with out nausia. I stopped the motrin and called Dr. He tested stool for blood and it was a negative. he thinks I have agrevated the Stomache from all the motrin. Since I stopped stomace feels better, but I am also getting sharp pain one in a while in upper right chest. Hurts so bad, but if I jump up and down ( in know that sounds weird) I burp and I feel better for a few minutes, then the pain builds and I jump and bupr again. Lasts from an hour to 5 hours. Only has happened a couple times but wasnt pleasant.

Will the Upper Gi figure out if Motrin messed up my stomache and why I get those chest pains?

on a side note i do think I have acid reflux, but I never have done anything about it other then changing my diet. that worked until this stupid surgery and all the meds they had me on.

Brian

Old 11-29-2005, 08:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

kehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB User
Re: Newbie - Getting an Upper Gi w/KUB (Air Contrast)

The upper GI can show ulcers, gastritis (irritation of the stomach lining), and other abnormalities of the stomach wall. It will also show if you have any reflux of stomach contents into your esophagus.