It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2002, 08:10 AM   #1
(male)

mrmusicman79 HB User
Question Questions about H. Pylori symptoms and treatment

About a month ago, my doctor diagnosed me via blood test, with H. Pylori infection. This was after I had been complaining of digestive problems for several months. But the fact is, I've had problems for many years, and I believe I may have had ulcers as a result of this disease, for as many as 8 years.
Some background info: I'm a 23 year old male. My father was diagnosed with H. Pylori a few years ago, and was able to clear it up with a week of "triple therapy" medication. He has had no problems since.
The earliest symptoms I recall were in the summer of 1994. I remember feeling nauseated, 2-3 hours after eating. I don't recall having any acid indigestion or other symptoms. Usually I always felt better once I ate a meal. At the time, I had a fairly decent diet although I have always been very limited on fruits and vegetables.
By mid-1995, I had a lot of problems eating a "bedtime snack". This always left me feeling nauseated at night, and as a result I often lost many hours of sleep. Sometimes I did not sleep at all. In December of 1995 I abruptly cut off my bedtime snack, and the problem immediately ceased. I often ended up going to bed hungry, but at least I could sleep well again.
I never had any great problems for at least a couple more years. My diet was still fairly good, and I could eat just about anything I wanted to, without any adverse effects. Around early 1998 I started having another problem. If I had gone to bed extremely hungry, especially if I had been out doing anything strenuous that evening, I would have almost no appetite at all the next morning, sometimes to the point of feeling nauseated.