It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2003, 04:30 PM   #1

sydala HB User
Unhappy Nervous about upcoming surgery

Hi There - Newbie Here I've had increasing upper left quadrant pain for the past three months or so and finally had a hyda scan and ultrasound Friday. They called Friday afternoon and I have to have my gb yanked this week. They didnt see any stones but the hyda scan didnt go well apparently (plus, it was excruciating - geez...) They said that they I have a diseased gall bladder and prob stones even though they didnt see them? How can that be? Also, my gall bladder to almost 1 1/2 hours to show up on the hydascan after the nuclear die was injected. Does that have anything to do with anything? Anyway, can anyone please tell me what to expect following surgery re: recovery time, weight gain, fatigue, etc etc...

Old 08-31-2003, 04:37 PM   #2

sydala HB User
Oh Also, follow up questions - what types of things can go wrong with the surgery? It is supposed to be laparoscopic. Also, how is the body able to function without the gall bladder and is it more difficult to digest food after its removed?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-31-2003, 05:29 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

Harry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB User
Arrow

Gallbladder removal is done laproscopically. Some people have problems. About 5 % of the patients have diarrhea caused by too much bile.
I had mind removed in 1997 with no problems since. Food is digested with enzymes, stomach acids and to digest fats your system puts out bile from your liver. You just won't have gallbladder to hold it until it's needed. It sorta emties all the time.