It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2007, 11:44 AM   #1
(male)

GregM10 HB User
Some Abdominal Pain (Trapped Gas?)

Hi All,

I'm a 22 year old, male in Ontario, Canada and recently I have been having some abdominal pain/discomfort that is worrying me. I am not in terribly good shape, as I'm about 5'11" and weigh around 230 or so.. (i was 270, but lost about 50 pounds last summer, but gained the "freshman 15" again when i got back to school, but plan to lose another 40 or so this summer)...

The pain is on my right side, sort of under the ribs, although it has been occurred a little lower as well. It is present most of the time, but can be alleviated while walking or moving. It is most prevalent while sitting for long periods. As a student I spend a great deal of time sitting in class and doing homework, and am not a terribly active person during the school year. This pain has been around for 3-4 weeks.

I have seen two doctors about this, the first one at the hospital emergency room, about 3 weeks ago said nothing felt unusual and it was likely a stomach flu, as there had been a very high number of them in the area recently. The pain somewhat subsided (and my anxiety was alleviated a great deal) within the week, but was never quite gone all the way.

A week later, I had wisdom teeth removed (last tuesday, march 13th), and was on Tylenol #3 and am still on Penicillin for them so they don't get infected. With the Tylenol's I found I was terribly constipated. I wasn't able to eat a whole lot for the week, so I was drinking lots of milk and instant breakfast shakes (the just add milk kind), which is abnormal for me, as I don't drink a great deal of milk normally. Also during this week, my fiber intake, and excercise were minimal as I was trying to recover from my wisdom teeth surgery.