It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2008, 09:18 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

lucylucy HB User
What should I expect from a HIDA scan?

Hi, newbie here.

I'm scheduled for a HIDA scan Friday and I'd like to know what to expect. The lab said there might be discomfort and I'll have to lay still for a couple hours.

The last time a doctor told me there might be discomfort from a procedure, the pain was so bad it made me vomit. Maybe I have a low pain threshold. I can't take any ibuprofen or anything before the test so I'm a little worried. I'm also a little worried about lying still for two hours. It's hard for me to stay still when I'm nervous. Even now I just want to pace.

Can anyone tell me what to expect?

Old 07-09-2008, 12:04 AM   #2
(male)

AlanPi HB User
Re: What should I expect from a HIDA scan?

It was a breeze for me. Just make sure you "release" yourself before so you don't have to interrupt the test. Mine was in the morning so it was like taking nap. Ask them to make you lying as comfortable as possible.

The CCK injection causes your stomach and gallbladder to react as if you are consuming food. I only had a very minor stomach nasea that went a way in a second.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-09-2008, 12:36 AM   #3
(female)

silkynickel HB User

I had a HIDA Scan done this morning. For the most part I agree with AlanPi. The first part of the test the start an IV and inject you with the radio active material that makes the three organs that they want to look at on the screen. The gall bladder, liver and pancreas I believe. This part of the test takes a minimum of 1 hour for those to become visible.