It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2008, 12:29 PM   #1
(female)

cat17 HB User
question about hida scan results

I work in a hospital, so when I kept having radiating epigastric pain friends in radiology did a gallbladder ultrasound, which showed sludge. Pain has been a lot more frequent, radiating into my neck from my mid epigastric area. When I saw my md in hall last week he ordered a hida scan w/o cck. After 2 hours the contrast was still completely in the gallbladder without any movement to small intestine. The next morning when they scanned again it was gone. The radiologist's final impression on the report was normal gallbladder function. Is it normal to have no activity in the gallbladder for more than 2 hours?

Old 08-13-2008, 10:54 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Harry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB UserHarry HB User
Re: question about hida scan results

cat,
It is not normal for a gallbladder to retain the radioactive dye for 2 hours and remain in the GB.
Why did they not give you the CCK to get an ejection fraction number?

Harry

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-14-2008, 10:56 PM   #3
(female)

cat17 HB User

I don't know - I have an appt next week. The phys office called me yesterday to tell me they'd rcvd my results & they were normal. I said I wanted an appt to go over some questions w/ the phys. Thanks for your reply!

Old 05-18-2009, 08:22 AM   #4
(male)

StrangeRanger09 HB User