It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....



Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2008, 12:26 PM   #1
Newbie
(female)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1
Riders HB User
what celiacs can and can't eat

what celiacs can and can't eat

 
Old 10-06-2008, 04:37 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,453
AuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB User
Re: what celiacs can and can't eat

The Can'ts:

Short list: wheat, rye, oats and barley.

Long list: wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, tricale, bulgar, couscous, durum, einkorn, farina, gluten, matzo, semolina.

Gluten can be hidden in the ingredient list under innocuous sounding names: Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), Vegetable Protein, Modified Food Starch, Soy Sauce, Malt, Bran, Natural flavoring or Caramel coloring.

Wheat must be listed as an ingredient since the Allergen Act of 2004 but barley can still slip by, especially as it is often used as a "natural flavor".

Last edited by AuntieLeela; 10-06-2008 at 04:39 PM.

 
Sponsors Lightbulb
   
Old 10-06-2008, 05:15 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,453
AuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB UserAuntieLeela HB User
Re: what celiacs can and can't eat

The Cans:

Meats, dairy, fruits, vegetables, oils and vinegars are naturally GF unless flavored, for example: some chocolate milks contain malt flavoring. Chicken and beef in restaurants are often "pumped up" with injections of wheat containing soy sauce. Real maple syrup is GF but the flavored corn syrup varieties may not be.

GF flours and starches:
Rice, Corn, Cassava, Soy, Potato, Yam, pure Buckwheat, Quinoa, Amaranth, Nut Flours, Teff, Tapioca, Arrowroot, Xanthum Gum, Guar gum, Bean flours, Sorghum, Acacia, Agar, Millet and more I've forgotten.

There is no master list, Celiacs must always read the ingredients and check with the manufacturer if necessary. Most products have a 1-800 # right on their label.

 
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Board Replies Last Post
Hypothyroid and Celiacs disease AndreaL Celiac Disease 3 04-01-2010 04:20 PM
Celiacs Disease? Advice please AndreaL Digestive Disorders 0 04-01-2010 08:09 AM
Don't know what to think yammom Heart Disorders 2 03-02-2010 11:31 AM
Can I still have Celiacs even though a biopsy was taken and didn't show positive for KARENLEE47 Anemia 5 05-02-2009 04:20 AM
Celiac Disease? How to introduce new foods . . . WHAT can I eat? numbcy Celiac Disease 15 10-15-2007 12:20 PM




Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Join Our Newsletter

Stay healthy through tips curated by our health experts.

Whoops,

There was a problem adding your email Try again

Thank You

Your email has been added








TOP THANKED CONTRIBUTORS



janewhite1 (20), bluepumkin (18), solofelix (15), Harry (13), Titchou (8), flipfleury (8), ladybud (7), MountainReader (7), jmarple (6), rufous57 (5)

Site Wide Totals

teteri66 (1136), MSJayhawk (941), Apollo123 (857), janewhite1 (823), Titchou (773), Gabriel (743), ladybud (667), sammy64 (666), midwest1 (655), BlueSkies14 (610)



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.



Site owned and operated by HealthBoards.com™
Copyright and Terms of Use © 1998-2014 HealthBoards.comô All rights reserved.
Do not copy or redistribute in any form!