It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Digestive Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2009, 07:27 PM   #1
(female)

heqet HB User
My story...RUQ pain

Hi everyone! I'm new to this board. I have read quite a bit about people on here having problems similar to mine. So let me share my story. Maybe some of you all can give me some insight.

I am a healthy 28 y/o female. I am not overweight, I eat a healthy diet. I have been having this RUQ abdominal pain for about a month now. It is right below my ribs on the right side and somewhat tender to the touch. It hurts worse after eating. Sometimes immediately, sometimes it takes about an hour. Greasy foods seem to hurt it worse. My first thought was that it could be gallstones. (I am an operating room nurse, by the way). The pain was dull at first with a feeling of fullness in that area. I gave it a week or so to see if it would go away on its own. It didn't go away, it only got worse. The pain/nausea became much worse and my right shoulder blade started hurting very badly as well.

I thought it for sure had to be my gallbladder, so I called my favorite general surgeon and told him how I was feeling. He told me to go the the ER in the morning and he would take my gallbladder out that day. Well, I went to the ER and had an ultrasound. No stones. I had blood work done. It was all normal. So he ordered a HIDA Scan. It was normal too. Next I had an EGD done, which showed mild gastritis. So they gave me some prescriptions for Nexium and Levsin and sent me on my way. I have had gastritis before, and it felt different than this (LUQ pain for starters).