It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Disabilities Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2010, 05:02 PM   #1
(female)

princess9483 HB User
Post Approved! Questions about Medicare and backpay......

Hi all! I know I'm a newbie but I'm definitely not a stranger to these types of boards. Some of you know me on Neurotalk as cherry33778. For those of you who don't here's my story from Neurotalk:

I was diagnosed in June 2008 with Myasthenia Gravis and I have been on oxygen since September 2007, a rare constant symptom of MG.

I applied on August 4, 2008. I believe my first denial was around October/November that same year. I then hired an attorney Novenber 2008. My second denial was around Spring of 2009. We then filed for a hearing on May 1, 2009. I was really surprised when I got a notice in April 2010 that my hearing was going to be May 26, 2010.

On the day of my hearing I was met by an attorney that I had never met, my guess is that something happened to my attorney and he could not be there that day. This attorney seemed somewhat familiar with my case and he "prep'd" me before going into the hearing.

When I entered the room there was a long table that covered most of the room. The judge was seated at the head of the table that was closest to the door with the reporter on his right and the vocational expert was to her right. My attorney was seated across from the VE and to the left of the judge. I had to sit at the end of the table all by myself which I must say was kinda scary.

After my lawyer asked me questions such as my symptoms and limitations, the judge then asked me questions like what I go through on a day to day basis. After those type of questions he then started asking me about my previous employment, my wages, did I quit my job, etc.