It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Disabilities Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2010, 10:21 PM   #1
Facilitator
(female)

SpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB User
Approved for indiv disability benefits.

I have STD and LTD through my employer. I'm receiving LTD benefits and have applied for SSDI.

Our financial planner nearly forced us to buy individual disability policies for my husband and myself 9 years ago. I worked in the insurance industry and didn't think we'd ever use it and thought my employer benefits would be enough. But then what if something happened at an employer who had no benefits or I was between jobs? I didn't realize I qualified for benefits at 6 months (thought it was after a year out of work) so I put in my claim this summer and it took them 3 months to make a decision - I was APPROVED and just got the check for a year's worth of benefits. This can't be deducted/offset from my LTD as premiums were paid solely by me and isn't employer sponsored in any way. So I got a huge check this week which got us out of most of our credit card debt as of this week.

The main reason I post this is that many of us are already disabled. But talk to your friends and family and tell them the struggle of disability income. Many think that SS will pay them what they were making, SS is automatic, every employer offers LTD, or no need to enroll for the higher benefit when offered that at work, etc. IF they are healthy they should apply for an individual disability plan (any individual insurance agent can help guide you). My individual disability policy premium was $500/yr and my benefit is now $700/mo. It won't make us rich but will help us meet our needs.