It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Divorce & Separation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2004, 03:53 PM   #1

Gaguy HB User
Question Dating someone who is going through a divorce?

Let me start. I am an assistant manager and I have an employee who is currently in the process of getting a divorce. We really get along great and have recently been "playing" more. Getting a little more "touchy-feely" with each other but nothing has happened between us. We often give xomplements to each other and she has mentioned a few times how much she appreciates my support while she is going through this.

The question is should I make the move to ask her out now, or wait until everything is done and over? Or how do I find out if she is ready to move on? Is there any way to tell if there is actually between us or is it all in my head? I already know some are going to comment on the "employer-employee" relationship but I am aware of that.

Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-05-2004, 05:11 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GirlHarley HB User
Re: Dating someone who is going through a divorce?

Hi, I can give you a whole list of reasons why not to do it and very few reasons to do it...

Going through a divorce is very difficult no matter who sets out for it.
Start out as her friend...Just be there for her if you want and if she wants.
Take it from there...Consider yourself getting a new friendship and watch what happens....

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-06-2004, 07:13 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Ruth6:11 HB UserRuth6:11 HB User

My question is why would you want to date someone who is still legally married?

Who may change her mind and stay with the husband?
Who may share so much with you about the divorce that you'll be a reminder of a painful time and end up dumping you?