It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Divorce & Separation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2005, 09:59 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Ornament HB User
"Divorce"

Hello,

This is my first time on this board...And I would appreciate a few opinions, if you-all would be so kind. For the first time - in my life...I'm contemplating - getting a divorce. I've been with him for 20+ years. And for the past 2.5 yrs. - My life has turned upside down. He has become - disrespectful, inconsiderate and self-centered. He's a great father, provider and friend to his friends, but, a lousy husband...Basically, we're roommates....And I'm miserable...I know most couples divorce over money issues and infidelity. So, I'm wondering, if I'm out of line, by thinking of filing for a divorce...Of course, I have my own issues. But, do these reasons sound ligimate or is life really suppose to be this way and I should just put up with all of it. Any thoughts, experiences would be welcomed.......Thanks for your time, -ShinyOrnament

Old 02-07-2005, 10:19 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Music4All HB User
Re: "Divorce"

You did not mention marriage counseling. I would at least go through this process to be able to say you gave it a last legitimate chance and to support your own feelings on this.

The reasons you give are legitimate, but I would go this final step to offer a chance to step up or not for both parties.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-07-2005, 10:34 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(male)

heartlandguy HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinyornament
- My life has turned upside down.
- He has become - disrespectful, inconsiderate and self-centered.
Please clarify a few things. What is the connection between the above two statements? Which came first?

Old 02-07-2005, 11:51 AM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

Ornament HB User

First of all - thank-you for your responses.