It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Divorce & Separation Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-01-2008, 09:09 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

negot HB Usernegot HB User
Should I get divorced? Please help!

I have been married for almost 10 years. We married late in life, I am 48 now, my husband is 50. We have 2 young children, 7 and 5.
We married out of convenience, not because of love. This has never been verbalized between us, but we both know it. At the time we both felt lonely and needed each other.
The marriage has been horrible from the beginning. There has been very little fun, but a lot of fights, belittling and not speaking to each other. The marriage has been mostly sexless and it is a wonder we have 2 children.
Although I have a masters degree and I am not stupid, my husband talks down to me most of the time. He is from a family that is not successful, neither is he, my family members are all successful. I think my husband has always felt socially inferior to other people.
I would have left him long ago as nothing except the children keep us together, but I am from another country and I have no education, nor skills from the US. Add to that my age and I feel like I am in prison and don't know how to get out. I have done therapy, but that hasn't helped me gain insight what to do. My husband doesn't seem to care that we are barely speaking to each other. He is gone most of the day, working in a business that he started much thanks to me (long story). When I married him he was 40, unemployed and lived in a rental. He basically had nothing and no friends at all although he was born and raised in the city where we live.
Any input will be appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-01-2008, 10:28 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)