It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Dizziness / Vertigo Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 02:04 PM   #1
(female)

nicoleodc HB User
Vertigo, Nausea, Off Balance: Labrynthitis?

Hello, this is my first time writing on here, and I write because I am quite frightened by my own body this past week.

Eight days ago, I began to feel like the images I was seeing (real life) before my eyes were more like paintings, or like watching a movie. I felt very disconnected from the world around me, like even my own talking was startling to me. I kept telling my friends it felt like I was watching the world around me through someone else's eyes. It all seemed like such strange and unreal symptoms, so I brushed them aside. I'm a teacher, and I don't have much leave, nor wanted to take off, so I just pressed forward.

By the 3rd day of symptoms, I was seeing the floor moving beneath me, as if it was tilting. Then I could hardly bare to watch the students around me playing because it was too nauseating. A coworker urged me to see my doctor, as none of this was "normal". So I went to the doctor the 4th day of symptoms, and he diagnosed all of my symptoms as vertigo, most commonly caused by an inner ear infection, said it was viral so there's no medication. He told me to take an anti-motion-sickness medication and Allegra D.

Throughout all of that time, I was extremely tired. I slept 15 hours at a time, and found it more difficult than usual to wake up in the morning. I was still tired and wanted to keep sleeping even after 15 hours of sleep. When I returned from the doctor, I slept a lot and figured I would go to work the next day.