It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Down Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-03-2006, 10:26 AM   #1
(female)

lilismom HB User
Post Babysitting a teenager with down syndrome

Hi, I am currently a student studying special education. I currently accepted a job "babysitting" a first year high school student everyday after school for a few hours everyday. I have been trying to find activities that we can do while I am with him that is intellectually/developmentally stimulating and overall fun. Since it is getting cooler outside here I want activities we can do inside. I have never worked with a child with down syndrome, only autistic children, so if you have any additional information that you would want someone to know who was watching your child, I welcome it. I just want my time with him to be valuable and fun.

Thanks

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-06-2006, 01:05 PM   #2

starcrush HB User
Re: Babysitting a teenager with down syndrome

try to find things that interest him they can catch his attention like maybe puzzles and boardgames . try to be patient with him or her. they tend to be very smart people and lovaeable. my sister has a disabilty so i have experiece working with the challenged.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-08-2006, 11:18 AM   #3
(female)

angelique5 HB User

They can be very normal kids.... so start there...

many of them are very high functioning..have very wicked senses of humor... they often love to entertain people...

my son loves basketball... he doesnt comprehend the rules of the game...but he loves to shoot baskets, taking turns...

so..talk to the kid... ask him what he likes, dislikes... don't just plan it all FOR him...get him involved in his choices, he might be much more receptive to your efforts that way!!

Old 09-09-2006, 01:20 PM   #4
(female)

lilismom HB User