It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Down Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2006, 06:33 AM   #1
(female)

lunalu HB User
DS is not an excuse for bad behavior

I am a resource teacher serving a 6 year old who is repeating K. The child has come to me with what appears to be no controlled behavior. It looks as if child has not learned any discipline, runs around infront of parent with no response from the parent, is clever enough to know he/she can do whatever he/she wants including eating off the cafeteria floor, says "no" to any direction, spits, strips and runs and other unacceptable behaviors that are truly menacing. I'm at my wits end as where to begin with such a child that is already 6 yrs. old. I am trying to use a visual schedule, timer, reinforcements...but am truly overwhelmed with the task. I think the child needs some t ough love and I don't believe I will get support for that. Parents are very angry at the whole situation. It must be really rough at home and school is a relief for them. I am not the only one who needs help, the parents need support but are so angry they are almost unapproachable. I think that DS is not an excuse for bad behavior. Any suggestions for positive steps?

Old 09-10-2006, 05:13 PM   #2
(female)

angelique5 HB User
Re: DS is not an excuse for bad behavior

I'm really not sure I have any suggestions or solutions...but I definately feel for you!

In our home, we've always treated our son with DS the same as our other children, and expected the same behavior from him as the other children. He has chores, and is disciplined if he misbehaves, etc. I've seen families who treat their disabled child as if "awww..he has it so hard already, I don't want to make life any harder on him" and they are not realizing that no social skills, and negative behaviors are a hardship on the children!!