It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Down Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2006, 06:24 PM   #1
(female)

kbach67 HB User
Behavior advice needed!!

I am a first year teacher and have 3 students with DS (3rd, 4th grade). One has a history of behavior issues (biting, cursing, running away etc) and the other two were pretty good. Well, now they are showing behaviors. One refuses to come in from recess and is getting increasingly worse at transition and the other is copying the first boy with the history of behavior issues. He has begun to refuse to go to breakfast or lunch, he throws chairs if he doesn't get his way and is cursing now. What are the most effective behavior management strategies. I try to offer choices (walk to breakfast with the aide or me, walk in the front of the line or with a friend etc). I try to give a few minutes warning before trying to line up (with a visual clock) and of course I often try to just distract or change the subject. I will take any and all suggestions!!!

Thanks!!!

Old 12-02-2006, 06:58 AM   #2
(female)

kbach67 HB User
Re: Behavior advice needed!!

I hope it doesn't offend anyone that I've posted. I noticed several readings but no responses. I have a child with spina bifida and I know that we moms are the experts!!
I noticed the other day that one of my students is starting the "why" and "how come" so I am wondering if some of his behavior is just developmental (he and my 3 year old have LOTS of similarities now). Truly I welcome any thoughts and suggestions because when I try to talk to some colleagues, they call it the "down's stubborness" and that doesn't sit well with me.

Last edited by moderator2; 12-02-2006 at 07:12 AM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-02-2006, 04:36 PM   #3
(female)

angelique5 HB User

I'd read your message, and had no immediate ideas!!