It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Down Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2007, 02:24 PM   #1
(female)

Nafeesa1 HB User
Dauhter w/ Down Syndrome

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time here and I am lad I found this website. I have been reading some of the messages which have encouraged me to write about my experience with down syndrome. I will be brief. Here it goes.
About 15 months ago my daughter was diagnosed with Down Syndrome. She was born a little over 4lbs. The doctors came to me that evening and told me that they think she has DS. At that time I really did not know what DS was, therefore when they told me I just said ok. I called my family and best friend and they were explaining it to me. I was shocked and did not know what to do. However my loving family told me everything would be ok and they will help me through this. I did not have the chance to express my feelings of sadness. I kept everything inside because I did not want my family to know that I really did not want to take on the resposibility of taking care of a child with a disability. Now it is 15months later and I am still in shock and I cannot believe that this has happened. I cry everyday. It has been a struggle. We've been through the heart surgery which was very hard. I would like to speak to anyone who could help me though these feelings that I am going through. I love my daughter, but I am scared for her future and what this world has to offer her.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-28-2007, 03:03 PM   #2
(female)

snoopy220 HB User
Re: Dauhter w/ Down Syndrome

Good evening,