It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Down Syndrome Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2008, 12:59 PM   #1
(female)

maryalice666 HB User
16 year old high functioning downs with self-esteem problems

I am a teacher of a downs syndrome student and he is so smart, but he just makes really poor judgment. He love girls, but sometimes goes overboard with his advances. He tells people that he drinks and does drugs and even brought a large amount of money today to impress people.
I want to treat him normally, but want him to understand that he does not need to impress people. The parents are really worried about this behavior, but I am thinking that it is normal for a guy his age. What do you think?

Old 03-05-2008, 03:18 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Karen W. HB User
Re: 16 year old high functioning downs with self-esteem problems

Hello,
I have a down syndrome son who is 22 years old The problem is -They trust everyone, to bad the world we live in is not a trusting place. You need to explain to him that there are allot of nice students at the school but there are also some we cannot trust, explain to him that if some of these students see your money, they might take it and not ever get it back. Have a talk about what drugs and drinking can do, why he should not do them at all. Some times you just have to lay the cards out on the table, we live in a rough world, telling him the truth will only help him.
Karen W.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-05-2008, 07:30 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

Karen W. HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karen W. View Post
Hello,