It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2006, 05:05 PM   #1
(male)

Capiqoo HB User
Clogged Ear

hey Guys Sometimes i get this feeling in my ear like its clogged or something... i was recently sick and all my sinuses were congested but now im over the cold but my ear still feels like its clogged with something.... I can pop it and unpop it but nothing works... does anyone know what this could be? or how long it lasts?

-man in need

Old 04-15-2006, 08:37 PM   #2
(female)

bugjune HB User
Re: Clogged Ear

Capiqoo,
I'm no doctor, but have about 50 years of ear prob *experience*!

Your clogged sensation could be middle ear infection (more common in kids), the result of fluid in your eustacion tubes.

Suggestion: do NOT take antihistamine! Believe it or not, these will prolong middle ear/fluid probs and you could end up with permanent tinnitis or hearing loss.

Just go to an ENT doc in your area (hospital, clinic) and get an expert opinion on this.

I had clogged ears resulting from a bad cold as a teenager, took antihistamine, suffered plugged ears for about 2 weeks and totally damaged my ears. I ended up with permanent tinnitis.

Good luck with your healing. Don't delay.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-16-2006, 05:16 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

arlmon18 HB User

I have "clogged", ears for 5 weeks now, although they are getting better. This happened because of a cold, and I had to fly home like that. 3 different doctors have checked me - there is some fluid there, and it takes quite a while for it to dry out. My ENT gave me Nasonex - once daily and it seems to be helping. I need to be patient.

Old 04-16-2006, 11:49 AM   #4
(male)

Capiqoo HB User

so dont take antihisthamine spray with a clogged ear? damn my doctor just gave me a prescription for it right before i got the ear problem