It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2006, 01:40 PM   #1
(female)

doa360x HB User
Exclamation Sharp pain on one side when I swallow.. very scared. HELP!

I'm a college student and, I'll admit it, I'm a social drinker. I'm not in any way dependent on alcohol, but on weekends I do drink with my friends. Last year I came down with some sort of virus and had a soar throat for an entire semester. Then summer came and it went away. Now I'm back at school and, after a few days, this sharp pain in my throat is back. It hurts when I swallow and sometimes when I speak and it only hurts on one side.

Does anyone have any idea what this could be? I know that college is basically one giant disease and it's so easy to catch anything due to living in such close quarters. But could it be alcohol related?? If so, is it serious? Keep in mind I'm pretty paranoid in general and I fear death and disease, so I might be making a huge deal out of nothing. However, I'm very scared.

Thanks!

Old 08-24-2006, 05:53 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

mkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB User
Re: Sharp pain on one side when I swallow.. very scared. HELP!

Were you ever tested for mono? It is most commonly transmitted by drinking after someone and runs rampant in college water fountains. Mononucleosis can last and reoccur up to eighteen months after being contracted. It can be mild for some, or bad enough to hospitalize you. My fiance gave me mono, 12 months after he had contracted it himself... it took me 3 months to feel normal and I had flare ups for the next 18 months. Just a thought and worth getting checked out.
Sincerely, MG

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-25-2006, 12:40 AM   #3
(female)