It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Ear, Nose & Throat Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2006, 04:48 PM   #1
(female)

Enoughwithit HB User
Cold before tonsillectomy

Hey everyone...

I'm scheduled for a tonsillectomy on September 11, in the morning.

However, last Friday, I began a cold (congested nose and deep coughing). Right now, although I'm still coughing a little and blowing my nose a little, I feel much, much better.

I was just curious to know if they could refuse to operate if my nose is still running a little and if I'm still coughing a bit ?

I trust I'll be ok by then (still have 6 days to go, I've had it since Friday and colds usually run for 7 days...) but I was just wondering...

Thanks in advance for your input

Old 09-05-2006, 05:06 PM   #2
(female)

jogo HB User
Re: Cold before tonsillectomy

I doubt it unless you're running a fever, but I'm not a doctor. I would wait until Friday and see how you're feeling, and call your dr then if you're unsure. You might be all better by then, and that's enough notice to cancel if your doctor won't operate.

I know before I went in the anesthesiologist was asking me a million questions about if I'd had a cough or cold recently, but I assume that was for breathing purposes during surgery.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-05-2006, 06:03 PM   #3
(female)

Enoughwithit HB User

Thanks

I hope it's only for breathing purposes. Already tonight, I'm coughing a lot less. I suppose I will be all well come Friday

I don't want to push back that surgery. Been waiting for it for too long.

I will try to get some info on that. I have my blood tests tomorrow morning. Might ask the nurse.

Old 09-05-2006, 06:52 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

mkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB User